We're sorry, the book is now out of print.


Our book "Voices in Chorus: Songs and their Stories from the Big Orkney Song Project" by Sarah Jane Gibbon wa available online exclusively from us. 

This book is the culmination of a two year Heritage Lottery Funded project called The Big Orkney Song Project, in which Sarah Jane Gibbon, Emily Turton and Aimee Leonard gathered together all the songs of Orkney they could find.  Although the two year funded part of the project is up, the process is constantly ongoing with Orkney Singers reworking, reinvigorating and bringing to a new audience old, lost or nearly forgotten Orkney songs.  You can access the Big Orkney Song Project collection in the audio library of the Orkney Archive.  You can also buy the book and listen to the accompanying cd!

(a sample of the book is shown here)










The book contains information on the 25 songs reworked during the project, versions of  some of these are also available for free download from this website.  Others, like Tammo the Tractor, were especially recorded for the book!  The book contains full lyrics and musical notation so you can play along whilst listening to the music.




Alternatively, if you live locally and would like to pick the book up, then please get in touch with us to arrange this.


We were also involved in creating a CD (not available, sorry)

Fruteetee by Song Shop (2008)

1   Touray a Laypa   2:29  
2   Factory Girl   2:57  
3   A Sailor's Life   2:52  
4   Hoy's Dark and Lofty Isle   3:23  (Orkney song)
5   Home Again   2:10  
6   The Isle of Erin   7:33  (Orkney song)
7   Death Came a'Knockin   3:46  



sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement