Please take a photograph of your group "in action." Don't forget to ask for permission from everyone for the photo to be published on the web. Then email it to the address below and we will upload it to the gallery.

 [email protected]

Music Appreciation Group One

by Glenys - 17:37 on 18 March 2022


The current full complement of Music Group One met at Glenys’s house on Monday, 7th March, and enjoyed a very interesting and entertaining morning of music with the theme “Composers, musicians and compositions beginning with the letter ‘S’”, as listed below:


Domenico SCARLATTI, “Salve Regina”, with soloists June Anderson (soprano) and Cecilia Bartoli

            (mezzo-soprano), and the Sinfonietta de Montreal conducted by Charles Dutoit;


SILENT NOON, composed by Vaughan Williams and sung by Kathleen Ferrier;


SILENT NIGHT, composed by Franz Xavier Grüber and sung by Andrea Bocelli;


BedÅ™ich SMETANA, “Vltava” (Moldau) from his “Ma Vlast Symphonic Poems”, with the  

            Polish National Radio Orchestra:


Franz SCHUBERT, Trio Wanderer playing “Piano Trio No 2 in E flat major, Op 100, “Andante con     moto”;


Jean SIBELIUS, “The Swan of Tuonela, Op 22, No 2, played by the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra,

            conducted by Mariss Jansons;


Jean SIBELIUS, “Finlandia”, played by the BBC Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Sakari Oramo;


Franz SCHUBERT, ”‘Arpeggione’ Sonata in A minor D821”;


Franz SCHUBERT, “Litanei auf des Fest Allerseelen” (“Litany for the Feast of All Souls”), sung by

            Matthias Goerne (baritone), with pianist Helmut Deutsch;


Dmitri SHOSTAKOVICH, “Romance” from “The Gadfly”, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

            conducted by Riccardo Chailly;


Franz SCHUBERT, “Piano Sonata No 2 in A, D959, 3rd Movement”, played by Mitsuko Uchida;


SUNSET in the FLOW, composed by Blair Douglas and performed by:  

            Harp – Jessica Burton; violin – Alastair Savage; viola – Elizabeth Sullivan;

            cello – Linda Hamilton; flute – David Griffith; accordion – Blair Douglas;


Alfred SCHNITTKE; “Polka” and  “Tango”, played by Daniel Hope (violin) and Alexey

            Botvinov (piano).


There will be no meeting in April as both Glenys and Angela will be away. The next meeting, to be held on Monday, 2nd May, will again be at Glenys’s house, and, as this letter is providing such a wealth of choices, the theme, again, will be:  Composers, or compositions, beginning with the letter ‘S’.

Add your comment

Your Name

Your Email (only if you are happy to have it on the site)

Your Comment - no HTML or weblinks

Enter this number in the box below and click Send - why?Unfortunately we have to do this to prevent the system being swamped by automated spam

Please note that whenever you submit something which may be publicly shown on a website you should take care not to make any statements which could be considered defamatory to any person or organisation.
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement