23 March 2011
Fereday Prizewinners Announced

The winners of this year's Fereday Prize for their Second Year History Project were presented with Certificates and Prizes in a ceremony at Stromness Academy earlier today.

This year's guest judges were Dr Donna Heddle of the UHI Centre for Nordic Studies and Elaine Clark of Historic Scotland, an OHS Committee member.

The Winners were:

Kirkwall Grammar School:

1st Prize: Douglas Corse - Longhope Lifeboat Disaster

2nd Prize: Rebecca Tait - What was the Rural Cinema Scheme?

3rd Prize: David F.W. Flanagan - The German Flower

Stromness Academy:

1st Prize: Thomas Penny - Motoring into Harray

2nd Prize: Ingrid Ritch - The History of the Stromness Police Station

3rd Prize: Erica Chalmers - The History of Mousland Farm

Also Very Highly Commended were:

Sandy Carmichael - A History of the Old Manse, Evie (SA)
Victoria Link later - Scapa Public School (KGS)
Michelle Baikie - The Norwood Antiques (SA)
Caren Bell - The Travelling Studs (KGS)
Alisdair Flett - Taking Refuge in Harray (SA)
Thora Cant - Was James Flett & Sons an Original Supermarket? (KGS)
Alasdair Gould - The Story of Uranium Mining in Orkney
Sarah MacPhail - The Russian Convoys of WW2 and my Great Grandad (KGS)
Cody Hay - J&S Hay, Farmers and Agricultural Contractors (SA)
Holly Rendall - Grain Farm (KGS)
Halle Omand - Staying with Tradition: the story of Stromness Boat Builder, Ian B Richardson (SA)
Ria Leslie - The Ba’ (KGS)
Mary Phillips - Life at Braebuster 1851-1901 (SA)
Erica Drever - Newark Farm Sanday (KGS)
Mark Sinclair - The History of Argo’s Bakery (SA)
Lillie Flett - Scapa School (KGS)
Bea Watson - James Sinclair, Botanist (SA)
Kistanne Angel Macgregor - A Drop of Angel Blood (KGS)
Samantha Wishart - The Birsay Community Association and Hall (SA)
Catherine Leask - What were Orkney Weddings Like…? (KGS)
Kinnell Craigie - Skaill House (KGS)
Alix McEwen - Sebay Mill (KGS)

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy