02 April 2018
Legion & Nomads win top spot

Congratulations go to the Legion on winning the 'A' league for the 9th year in succession and their 17th title in the last 20 years.  

The title was confirmed following a tremendous tussle with the Untouchables who they beat 7-5 in a game boasting big scores and sub 15 dart legs aplenty. This was the same score that Sanday beat the Untouchables in a catch up game played the following night.

With the Legion taking the winners trophy the runners up cup will be heading to the Golf Club, who cemented their position with an emphatic win over Quoyburray 'B'.  

Sanday secured the narrowest of victories over Untouchables 'A' while the Commodores faired slightly better against Wanderers.  

The real battle over the past few weeks has been for the second relegation spot with Quoyburray already assured of the wooden spoon.

Legion Arrows pulled clear on leg difference over Shapinsay with a narrow win over Quoyburray, while the Warriors confirmed their league status for another year with a  win over Shapinsay.  

Later in the week, Wanderers narrowly defeated Quoyburray in a  lacklustre match which signalled the end of the season for both teams.

Top met bottom in the 'B' league with the Nomads beating Ale Stars, giving Nomads the league title and resigning Ale Stars to the wooden spoon. 

The Bilco Boys fought hard against the Muppets and just came away with all the points, which means that promotion is in their hands as a win in their final match will guarantee second place.  A couple of games were postponed with the barriers being closed, but Tankerness managed to beat Young Loons in a rearranged match from previous weeks.

 Sanday 'B' managed to hold the Vikings to a draw, and in doing so ended the promotion chances of the Vikings.
180s were hit by:  Brian Moar, Robbie Stanger, Billy Ward, John Garson, Alan Gray, Craig Taylor, Kevin Gray, Keith Brumpton, Ben Hogan, Jamie Marwick, Stevie Moar, Raymie Rendall, Gary Wilson, Steven Low, Neil Drever, Mark Shearer, Brian Stevenson and Ivan Leslie (three).

Ton-plus checkouts came from: Kevin Peace 100, Wayne Monkman 105, Jim Hamilton 110, Derrick Firth 110, Raymie Rendall 111, Neil Tait 112, Wayne Small 112, Shaun Raeburn 114, Ian Findlay 118, Stuart Thomson 120, Mark Shearer 120, Gordon Rendall (SB) 128, Leigh Shearer 149 and Andrew Clouston 106 & 122.  

A League
Wanderers 4, Commodores 8; Legion Arrows 7, Quoyburray 5; OGC 10, Quoyburray 'B' 2;
Untouchables 'A' 4, Sanday 8; Untouchables 5, Legion 7; Shapinsay 4, Warriors 8; Quoyburray 5, Wanderers 7.Sanday 7 Untouchables 5.

B League
Tankerness 8, Young Loons 4; Ale Stars 3, Nomads 9; Muppets 5, Bilco Boys 7; Sanday 'B' 6, Vikings 6.

Friday, April 13, Steven Flett Mixed Doubles, Legion, names by 7.30pm
Friday, April 20, Shetland v KDDL Orkney, Lerwick Legion, 7.30pm

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement