23 May 2017
Darts league 50th anniversary celebrated



The 50th anniversary of the Kirkwall & District Darts League league was marked at the weekend, where tributes were paid to those who founded the organisation five decades ago.
Both the ladies and gents Kirkwall & District Darts Leagues held their annual presentation of trophies at the Kirkwall Masonic Club on Saturday night.
League president Craig Taylor paid tribute to the all the founding members of the league who back in 1967 formed a committee and the KDDL was born.
The first ever committee were Archie Clarke, Alastair Muir, JB Wylie, Jimmy Miller, Tom Notman, Jim Scollie and Dan Davey.
Craig paid tribute in particular to two of those founding members still involved, current league secretary Jim Scollie, who was the league president of the organisation for the first year, and has been secretary for the past 49 years.
In thanking Jim, also known as 'Tattie Bogle' for his much appreciated hard work over the decades, he also praised the commitment to the league of Jimmy Miller, the only player in the league to have played in every one of those 50 years.
Jimmy is also past president of the organisation, and still plays at the top level of the sport, winning the league with the Legion team once more this season.
Craig said that he felt that the 50 years service to the league of the pair has to be a record of some kind on a national level.
He highlighted the fact that both Jim and Jimmy are widely respected in darting circles here in Orkney, and outwith the county, including in both the darting communities of Shetland and Caithness.
On behalf of the league membership Jim and Jimmy were also presented with gifts marking their 50 years service.
Craig also paid tribute to the late Tom Notman, founding member of the league, who was the secretary for the first year, and went on to serve as president for many years after.
He said that he felt it is right that his contribution to the darts league is remembered and recognised through the annual Tom Notman memorial cup which is played for each year, with the 301 double start format, the original format of the league.
Craig went on to say: "In the 50 years of existence, the KDDL has only had nine presidents, Jim Scollie, Tom Notman, Boyo Norquoy, Donnie Sutherland, Jimmy Miller, Derek Sutherland, Albert Scollie, Dennis Sutherland and myself.
"I feel privileged to have been on the committee for the last 22 years, and president for 13 years, which have not always been easy times, but with a good  committee who share the workload the work is a lot easier, but is still a big commitment.
"I would also like to pay tribute to all those I have served with over the years. It takes a lot of work and dedication in organising everything each year to ensure our competitions and fixtures go smoothly."
He added: "Nowadays the league has great support from so many people and businesses. We would also like to especially thank all the pubs and clubs we play out of each season.
"Many thanks also to our league sponsors, Williamson Butchers, county team shirt sponsors The Brig Larder, all the various cup sponsors, and Tennent's and J.W. Gray for supporting our highly successful Kirkwall Open Singles Darts.
"All that valuable support is very much appreciated by us all, and long may it continue."
To mark the anniversary a cake made by league player and baker Keith Brumpton was cut by Jim and Jimmy. A sketch of the original league badge by local artist Lorraine Bruce was also presented to Jim.
The cake was later donated to the residents of Eunson Kloss sheltered housing complex.
The final event of the darts season this year is the visit to Kirkwall by the professional players Terry 'The Bull' Jenkins and Alan 'Chuck' Norris, along with top TV commentator John Gwynne.
They will take on a number of local players on the night, including some selected from the floor on the evening itself, so come along for a great night of darts to round off the season. Tickets, priced at £10 available from committee members and from the Kirkwall Legion.
Finally, team registration books for next season are now available from the secretary, Jim Scollie. He can be contacted on 875740.

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement