20 August 2014
New teams in leagues

There was not a big turnout for the K-DDL annual general meeting last Thursday, with only 22 players attending — about what has averaged over the last ten years. It was disspointing that more ‘B’ team players could not attend though.

Twenty-two teams have entered the leagues for the 2014-15 season — two down on last year, with four of last year’s ‘B’ teams failing to enter — the Likely Lads, Sands, Meadowbank and Deerness.

Two new teams have signed up. The Muppets will be playing out of the Royal Bar, and the Masonic. So, that makes 12 teams in the ‘A’ League, and ten teams in the ‘B’ League.

All venues have fixture lists up on their noticeboards and there’s also a list of cup fixtures, starting on September 8, with the Allied Hotels Cup for ‘A’ teams, followed on the 9th with the St Ola Cup for ‘B’ teams.

On the committee, Craig Taylor, who has now been on the committee for 20 years, is president, Kevin Gray vice-president, Davy Henderson is treasurer and Jim Scollie is still secretary, for the 47th year in a row. Other committee members are Ian Wilkie, Michael Bain, Brian Moar and Robbie Stanger. Stevie Linklater is a new member of the committee for the season ahead.

The first committee meeting is on Wednesday, September 17, in the Masonic at 8pm.
The ‘B’ League singles and doubles will be ranking points competitions for East ‘B’ selection and the committee will take note of points earned by B league players in the other ranking competitions during the season. There is no change in the entry fees.

The games against Caithness has now been fixed for October 4th in Wick. More news on that to follow.

Upcoming fixtures
Saturday, August 30: Orkney Darts Masters, Picky Centre, 1pm.
Saturday, September 6: Shapinsay Open, Shapinsay, noon.

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement