22 July 2014
Darts league entries required

Time is running out fast for entries for the 2014-15 season of the Kirkwall District Darts League, with the closing date calling on Wednesday, August 6.

No late entries will be accepted after that date, as the leagues will be drawn up that night at the committee meeting in the Masonic Club.

At present, only ten of last year’s 24 teams have collected registration books.

Books are available from the secretary Jim Scollie (Tel: 875740) and need to be returned before August 6. 

Meanwhile, the next big event on the local darts calendar is the Orkney Darts Masters — due to be held at the Pickaquoy Centre on Saturday, August 30 — when seven pros, plus one local, will take on eight local players.

They are Derek Firth, Ian Wilkie, Kevin Gray, Robbie Stanger, Simon Parry, Brian Moar, Ivan Leslie and Paul Foubister, while Michael Bain will be playing for the pros.

It’s a fun day out, and tickets are on sale from KT Sports.

Then, the first big local competition of the domestic season is the second Shapinsay Open on Saturday, September 6.

It’s for ladies and gents, and players from Kirkwall can catch the 11.30am ferry, as the darts start as soon as they arrive.

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement