03 September 2012
Great day of darts

What a great day of darts — that was the second Orkney Darts Classic with eight of the top PDC players taking on eight of the local players.
None of the locals won but they all did put up a great show. Even the games that ended 4-0 could have been different if only that double had gone in.
Two of the games went to the decider but, in both, the local players involved could have won before the final leg.

Robbie Stanger started off by holding Co Stompe to 3-3 only to lose the final leg as did Mike Bain against Vincent Van Der Voort.
Any way the title went to Mark Webster who defeated five-times world champion Raymond Van Barneveld 4-3 in the final.
All told, 18 180s were scored, all by the professionals, with Mark hitting five.
The Bulls Eye Challenge to hit a bull within three darts was won by Derek Ward Jnr with his third dart. He was the only player to do it.

The domestic darts get underway on Monday with the Allied Hotels Cup for ‘A’ teams of three players so teams with six registered can enter two teams.
Then on Tuesday, it’s down to the ‘B’ boys with the St Ola Cup played in the Masonic Club. The ‘A’ boys are in the Legion.
Then the following Monday, it’s the first of the A and B cups with the Spiers Cup for teams of four in the Legion Club.

With both leagues getting under way on September 24 all venues should now have score cards and fixture lists and remember there’s no rule that states ‘A’ games must be played on Mondays and ‘B’ games on Tuesdays. Wednesdays and Thursdays can also be used — even Fridays if no cup games are being played. Saturdays can also be used as long as the score cards are handed in by the Sunday noon.

Orkney Darts Classic first round: Robbie Stanger 3, Co Stompe 4; Ian Wilkie 0, John Henderson 4; Mal Reid 0, Aaron Monk 4; Mike Bain 3, Vincent Van Der Voort 4; Kevin Gray 1, Mark Webster 4; Derek Firth 2, Simon Whitlock 4; Stevie Linklater 2, Ray Barneveld 4; Ivan Leslie 0, James Wade 4.
Quarter-finals: Vincent Van Der Voort 2, Mark Webster 4; Aaron Monk 2, James Wade 4; John Henderson 3, Simon Whitlock 4; Co Stompe 0, Ray Barneveld 4.
Semi-final: Mark Webster 4, James Wade 2; Ray Barneveld 4, Simon Whitlock 1.
Final: Mark Webster 4, Ray Barneveld 3.
Bulls eye game won by Derek Ward Jnr.

Monday, September 10
Allied Hotels Cup (‘A’), Legion, 7.30 p.m.

Tuesday, September 11
St Ola Cup (‘B’), Masonic, 7.30 p.m.

Monday, September 17
Spiers Cup (‘A’ and ‘B’), Legion, 7.30 p.m.

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement