27 September 2011
First half team cups
A good turnout for the last two cups of the first half of the season. The Lynnfield Cup for 'A' teams had nine teams out of the 11 registered, and in the Foubister Cup, for 'B' teams, seven out of the ten teams entered. 
Last year these two cups only had two teams entered for each, so a big improvement.
In the Lynnfield Cup, it was victory once again for the Legion boys, as they took their third cup with a 3-0 defeat of the Wanderers.
In fact, the Legion won every game 3-0 and, in the Foubister Cup, RBLM picked up their second cup with a 3-1 win over Shapinsay, who played well to get to the final.
That's all five cups going to the Legion teams.
As these cups were cricket cups, it's not often 180s are scored, but there were two - one each for Paul Foubister and Roy Griffiths.
Occurring even less, are three bulls in one throw, but Martin Peace hit the mark, which equates to six wickets in cricket terms.
The first of the ranking points events is the Louttit Singles on Friday, October 14, in the Legion Club. It is for registered players only.
Now that both leagues are under way, there are a couple of changes. Wanderers 'B' will now be playing their home games in the Legion and not the Auld Motor Hoose, and Callum Miller has taken over as Shapinsay team captain.
Results - 
Lynnfield Cup Final:
Legion beat Wanderers 3 - 0.
Foubister Cup Final -
RBLM beat Shapinsay 3 - 1
Fixtures: Monday, October 3
Williamson's 'A' League
Wanderers 'A' v OGC; Legion v Untouchables 'A'; Quoyburray v Wanderers; Untouchables v Commodore; Meadowbank v Sanday; No game - Quoyburray 'B'.
Williamson's 'B' League
Shore 2 v Tankerness; Bilco Boys v Shapinsay; RBLM v Shore' Sands v Murray Arms; Deerness v Likely Lads.


sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement