23 January 2012
Legion win again

The first domestic team cup of the new year attracted players making up 11 teams — eight from the Williamson’s ‘A’ League.

Only the two Quoyburray teams were missing and the top three ‘B’ teams made up the 11, with only RBLM making any headway into the second round. But, that was as far as they got and making it to the final was Commodores, showing great form.
Waiting for them was the Legion, who had still to drop a game. But they did — as they lost the first one before winning the next three to win 3-1. In fact, the Legion have won all the team cups up to now.
The first 180s’ of the new year were scored by Martin Peace, Ian Linklater and Kevin Gray and there were high checkouts from: Kevin Gray 116; Jimmy Miller 116; Keith Bain 126; and Neil Drever 140.
The cup games continue on Friday, with the E. R. & T. Craigie Singles in the Quoyburray. Names by 7.30pm, and it’s a ranking points event for registered players only and, with lots of players close points-wise, a big entry is expected.
On Monday, it’s back to league business for both ‘A’ and ‘B’ players. Both the Williamson’s Leagues have clear leaders.
In the ‘A’ League, the Legion have a five-point lead, which means they have to lose two games out of nine — and they haven’t lost two games in one season since 2004/05, but I’m sure the teams chasing them may have something to say about that.
In the ‘B’ League, RBLM are nine points ahead of their nearest challengers, so it’s unlikely they will drop as many points as that. Both the Legion and RBLM remain undefeated.
Team captains are reminded that score cards must be handed into the Legion club by the deadline of noon on Saturday and the secretary must be informed of the result by noon on Sunday.
There will be a committee meeting in the Masonic Club on Wednesday, February 1 at 8pm.

Swanney Cup final: Legion 3, Commodores 1.

Fixtures for January 27
E. R. & T. Craigie Singles, Quoyburray, 7.30pm.

Fixtures for January 30

Williamson’s ‘A’ League: Meadowbank v Commodores; Untouchables v Wanderers; Legion v OGC; Quoyburray v Quoyburray ‘B’; Untouchables ‘A’ v Sanday.

Williamson’s ‘B’ League: RBLM v Murray Arms; Bilco Boys v Shore; Shore ‘2’ v Shapinsay; Sands v Likely Lads; Deerness v Tankerness.

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement