23 August 2010
Record number of teams enter leagues


Kirkwall and District Darts League held its annual general meeting last Thursday, with 22 players turning up – better than last year, but still very poor. 
Most disappointing was the absence of so many team captains. But on a brighter note, 23 teams have entered – a new record, as 20 was the previous highest. 
After a long debate, it was decided to stay with two leagues, with 11 teams in the ‘A’ League and 12 in the ‘B’ League, with four of the new teams who had applied not returning their registration books. So, Wanderers ‘B’ and RBL2 were promoted to the ‘A’ League. The leagues start on the week commencing Monday, September 6. 
As there are so many teams compared to the number of venues, fixtures will overlap and with three venues having four teams using it as a home venue, captains are reminded that games can be played on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays if no ladies’ games are being played.
Cup games which normally start the season will be played later on and dates will be arranged at the first committee meeting on Wednesday, September 22, in the Masonic Club, at 8pm.
A change in the league format was agreed at the AGM. Now reserves can be used at any time.
Entry fees are to remain as last year and must be paid within one month following the start of the season.
Once again, thanks go to Williamson’s for their sponsorship of both league and the shirts for the inter-county against Shetland.
No new names came forward for committee duties. The committee is: president Craig Taylor, vice-president Kevin Gray, treasurer Trevor Pirie, secretary Jim Scollie and committee members Ian Wilkie, Stevie Linklater, Robbie Stanger, Brian Moar and Bruce Moar. It is Jim Scollie’s 44th year on the committee and his 43rd as secretary.
The team captains of Deerness, Sands 2, Wanderers B and Untouchables A are asked to contact the secretary on 875740 with their telephone numbers.
Completed score cards are to be left in the Royal British Legion Club by 12 noon on Saturdays - no card, no score – and points will be deducted. It is the home captain’s responsibility for score cards.
Monday, September 5
Untouchables ‘A’ v RBL2; Legion v Quoyburray; Wanderers ‘B’ v OGC; Quoyburray ‘B’ v Wanderers; Untouchables v Meadowbank; No game – Commodore.
Shore ‘2’ v Likely Lads; Bilco Boys (OGC) v Tankerness; Sands v Shapinsay; Deerness v Fanooks; Sanday v Sands; Murray Arms v Shore.
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement