04 November 2019
Kevin Gray wins Tom Notman Memorial Cup

League president Craig Taylor, winner Kevin Gray and runner-up Paul Firth.


The second week of league darts in the KDDL season has passed and once more the Legion remain top, although they were made to sweat against The Ola.  Joining them on maximum points are the Exiles, who had a good win over the Bilco Boys, with Dennis Watt hitting five maximums.  In the only other Williamsons 'A' League match, the Untouchables threw away a glorious chance to beat the Golf Club, with both teams having to settle for a draw in the end.

All fixtures were played in the 'B' league and still strutting their stuff at the top are the Tigers and Young Loons.  Quoyburray moved third following a close encounter with RBL2, and the Muppets and Tankerness both came out on top against Shandy Bass and Quoyburray 'B' respectively.

21 players entered this years Tom Notman Memorial Cup, a vast improvement in numbers over previous years.  The short 'old league' format of double start 301, best of 3, is always a great leveller and so it proved with a few big guns falling at the first hurdle.  

The top half of the draw could have been described as the young half, and two of this seasons up and coming stars met in the semi-final.  Nicol Gray began in earnest, a cheeky double double on eights claiming the first leg, only for Paul Firth to draw even with a bull finish.  Nicol was left to rue missed darts to win, as Paul sneaked through to his first singles final.

Colin Barnett had reached his semi-final showdown with Kevin Gray courtesy of some canny darts, including two big checkouts, but Kevin was in an unforgiving mood, and moved on with a two nil win.

The final was not as one-sided as may have been expected, despite Kevin taking the first leg.  Paul got off the mark straight away in each leg, and took his chance to square things up after Kevin had missed a few darts to win.  Kevin started the last leg like a rocket, and finished it with an explosive 153 checkout, to claim only his second Tom Notman title.

180s were scored by:  

Wayne Small, Derek Manson, Trevor Shearer, Derek Firth, Brett Dickinson, Craig Taylor, Stevie Linklater, Michael Moodie, Jason Cook, Davy Henderson, Robbie Norquoy, Ryan Tulloch, Kenny Gunn (two), Iain Findlay (two) and Dennis Watt (five).  Also scoring big were John Craigie 171, Ali Flett 174 and Don Wilson 177.

Ton-plus checkouts came from:  

Erlend Lennie 101, Brett Dickinson 102, Davy Henderson 106, Erland Ritch 114, Trevor Shearer 140, Kevin Gray 153, Raymond Foubister 160 and Colin Barnett (104, 120).


A League:
Exiles 9, Bilco Boys 3
The Ola 5, Legion 7
Untouchables 6, OGC 6

B League:
Tigers 8, Vikings 4
Shandy Bass 5, Muppets 7
Sands 4, Young Loons 8
Quoyburray 7, RBL2
Tankerness 9, Quoyburray 'B' 3

Tom Notman Memorial Cup:  Kevin Gray 2, Paul Firth 1


A League:
Nomads v Sanday
The Ola v Bilco Boys
Commodores v Shapinsay
OGC v Legion
Untouchables v Wanderers
Exiles – no game

B League
Shandy Bass v Legion Arrows
Sands v Vikings
Quoyburray v Muppets
Quoyburray 'B' v Young Loons
Tankerness v RBL2
Tigers – no game

Friday, November 1, Pitstop Singles (Ranking), Orkney Golf Club, names by 7.30pm

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement