The Marjorie Linklater Writing Award

This award was instituted in 2000 in memory of Marjorie Linklater, a founder member, past chairman and past president of the Society.  The award is given for a short piece of creative writing and the judges include a member of the Linklater family.

The competition is open to senior school pupils in 5th and 6th years and also to the same age group in Orkney College and is organised in conjunction with these establishments.





In 2013 Robbie Firth of Langskaill, Rousay, then a pupil at Kirkwall Grammar School, won the Marjorie Linklater Writing Award. His story - entitled ‘Hide’ - tells of a Rousay father and his two sons' encounter with a press gang.  You can read his story online by clicking here on the Rousay Remembered website.



2011 Awards

Winner of 2011 Marjorie Linklater Writing Award
Amber Kennedy (KGS) One Orkney Life

Second Place
Alanna Swanney (SA) The Battle o the Mackerel

Third Place
Ashley Blenkinsopp (KGS) My Daddy was a Tall Man

Very Highly Commended
Alannah Cooper (KGS) The Woodlouse
Marianne McGregor (KGS) Lonely Soul of St Magnus Cathedral

Highly Commended
Vicki Irvine (SA) A Wish Come True

Leah Thomson (KGS) The Eclipse
James Watson (SA) Jimmy o the Bu’s Polka
Annabella Penny (SA) January 1952
Alexander Sinclair (SA) A Final Farewell
Innes Morrison (SA) Orkney?…Hmmm


sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement